WA PCYC 2016-2017 Awards Night

Each year WA PCYC hosts an Awards ceremony in conjunction with our AGM. This year we did things a little bit differently, putting together a special separate awards night to formally celebrate and recognise the service of our partners, supporters, staff, volunteers and new life members for the past year at the Metro Hotel in South Perth.

We are excited to announce that the 2017 nominees and winners are…

WA PCYC Partnership Award – Metropolitan

Certificate of Nomination:

  • The Department of Education – Northam PCYC
  • The City of Fremantle – Fremantle PCYC
  • The City of Swan – WA PCYC Outreach Services
  • The Town of Victoria Park – Kensington PCYC

Certificate of High Recognition:

  • Centacare Employment and Training – Gosnells PCYC
  • The City of Gosnells – Gosnells PCYC

Winner: City of Subiaco, Subiaco PCYC

The City of Subiaco partnered with Subiaco PCYC to deliver the Sk8 4 Life and UPSKILL programs, allowing youth to engage in recreational activities, meet new friends and develop life skills.

WA PCYC Partnership Award – Regional

Certificate of Nomination:

  • Centacare Family Services – Exmouth PCYC
  • The Shire of Exmouth – Exmouth PCYC

Certificate of High Recognition:

  • Amity Health –Albany PCYC
  • Regional Development Australia – Pilbara – Roebourne PCYC

Winner: City of Geraldton, Geraldton PCYC

The City of Greater Geraldton were recognised for their ongoing support of Geraldton PCYC centre programs including the U-Turn Project, Friday Drop-in, Midnight Basketball, the Geraldton Demo Derby Project as well as numerous School Holiday Programs. The City helps provide vital funding as well as program and staff support, which has helped reduce antisocial and offending behaviour within the community.

WA Police Contribution Award

Certificate of Nomination:

  • Senior Constable Jeff Daniels –Albany PCYC
  • Constable Ben Gartner and Constable Brian Enad –Kalgoorlie PCYC
  • Senior Constable Jason Jones – Geraldton PCYC

Winner: Assistant Commissioner Duane Bell APM

This year’s award went to former Assistant Commissioner, Duane Bell APM for providing Police Executive advice and leadership in support of the WA PCYC and Chief Executive Officer during the implementation of the Browne Report recommendations, Infrastructure Upgrade Project and championing the Police Rangers.


WA PCYC Volunteer of the Year Award – Junior

Certificate of Nomination:

  • Chloe Barton–Wade – Collie PCYC
  • Sade Collinge – Albany PCYC
  • Dylan McCully – Gosnells PCYC

Certificate of High Recognition:

  • Dylan Butler, Joel Mallette and Josh Nybo – Exmouth PCYC
  • Imogen McColl – Geraldton PCYC

Winner: Maxie Coppin, Roebourne PCYC

Maxie’s local knowledge and connections have helped play a vital role in ensuring Roebourne PCYC’s services remain relevant within the community. At only 15 years old, he is well respected by all participants and a positive leader for his community, demonstrating skills and knowledge beyond his years.

WA PCYC Volunteer of the Year Award – Senior

Certificate of Nomination:

  • Elaine Collens – Gosnells PCYC
  • Jessica Felix – Geraldton PCYC
  • Sarah Kingdon – Geraldton PCYC
  • Bradley Light – Bunbury PCYC
  • Kristy Milne – Collie PCYC
  • Sharon Mumby – Exmouth PCYC

Certificate of High Recognition:

  • Wendy Everett – Fremantle PCYC
  • Kym Mostert – Albany PCYC

Winner: Caitlin Irving, Fremantle PCYC 

Caitlin joined Fremantle PCYC as a volunteer for the Safe Space program. Through her personal and business contacts Caitlin has helped to make a positive impact on the lives of many young people who attend Fremantle PCYC.

WA PCYC Employee Recognition Award

Certificate of Nomination:

  • Jackie Abbott – Midland PCYC
  • Jane Atterby – Northam PCYC
  • Elaine Collens – Gosnells PCYC
  • Dianne McColl – Geraldton PCYC
  • Jodie Ogden – Head Office
  • Emma Parr – Fremantle PCYC
  • Nicholas Quinn – Geraldton PCYC
  • Melainie Scholes – Kensington PCYC
  • Dennis Thompson – Collie PCYC

Certificate of High Recognition:

  • Jillian Bourke – Carnarvon PCYC
  • Joanne Rose – Albany PCYC

Life Member - Hon. Tom Knight (left) and Inspector Lysle Cubbage (right)

Winner: Jacqueline Opperman, Head Office

Jacqueline has been the face of and friendly voice behind WA PCYC for many years. As the Head Office Administration Coordinator, Jacqueline goes above and beyond her job description to assist a number of staff across the network.

WA PCYC Life Member Inductees:

Marilyn Chircop, Rockingham PCYC

Marilyn has been volunteering within Rockingham PCYC since 1997. Bringing to the centre a dedication second to none, she has assisted with many programs over the years including, Mega Dances, Police Rangers and Weld to Life.

Hon. Tom Knight and Annette Grace Knight AM [posthumous] – Albany PCYC 

Tom and his late wife Annette were very proud to promote the many facets of Albany PCYC back when it all started in 1995, always volunteering their time and also attending functions at the centre and in the community.

Annette passed away in August 2016 aged 79 and her generous support and can-do attitude has left a lasting impression on all that knew her.

WA PCYC EMT Achievement Award:Fremantle PCYC - Centre of the Year Award - Metropolitan

Mornington Adventure Camp

WA PCYC Fundraiser of the Year Award:

Albany PCYC

WA PCYC Youth Program of the Year Award – Metropolitan:

Off the Rails, Gosnells PCYC

WA PCYC Youth Program of the Year Award – Regional:

Safe Space Program, Roebourne PCYC

WA PCYC Centre of the Year Award – Metropolitan:

Fremantle PCYC

Collie PCYC - Centre of the Year Award - Regional

WA PCYC Centre of the Year Award – Regional:

Collie PCYC

A huge congratulations to all of our winners and nominees!

For more photos from the night, head over to our Facebook Page.

Special thank you as well to everyone who made this night possible:
Photographer: Hannah Sorrell, Audio/Visual: PAV – Complete Event Solutions, DJ: Hotshotz Entertainment, Venue: Metro Hotel